Come on Rain!

Come on Rain!

One of the best books I think I ever read to my children as they grew up was one called, “Come on Rain!”, written by Karen Hesse.  The story is about a little girl who is anxious to experience the joys that the summer rains bring.  Not only is the story line so relative, but it is also so well written.  In fact, I often used the book to help me teach about the beauty and power of well-chosen words to my grade 12 English classes.  Little did I know how this book would so much parallel the end of this particular journey with ovarian cancer.

Mamma lifts a listless vine and sighs. “Three weeks and not a drop,” she says, sagging over her parched plants. The sound of a heavy truck rumbles past. Uneasy, Mamma looks over to me. “Is that thunder, Tessie?” she asks. Mamma hates thunder. I climb up the steps for a better look.

“It’s just a truck, Mamma,” I say. I am sizzling like a hot potato. I ask Mamma, “May I put on my bathing suit?”

“Absolutely not,” Mamma says, frowning under her straw hat. “You’ll burn all day out in this sun.”

All the insects have gone still. Trees sway under a swollen sky, the wind grows bold and bolder, . . . and just like that, rain comes.  The first drops plop down big, making dust dance all around us.  Then a deeper gray descends and the air cools and the clouds burst, and suddenly rain is everywhere. “Come on, rain!” we shout. 

Beautiful.

I am waiting for the rain, too.

What a beautiful symbol of life.

Six more days of “heat’.  Six more days until my final chemo burns away the last remnants of ovarian cancer.  Six more days of waiting for the rain.

I can’t wait to dance in the summer rain!  I want to dance in the rain!  I want to rejoice in the rain.

I feel like Tessie.

Imagine the drops of rain dancing at my feet, the air cooling and the clouds bursting?  Spectacular.  Life- giving.  Rejuvinating.

Hesse describes it best, “It streams through our hair and down our backs. It freckles our feet, glazes our toes. We turn in circles, glistening in our rain skin. Our mouths wide, we gulp down rain.

And then the mothers, who were watching over their children, join in as they ” . . . fling off their shoes, skim off their hose, tossing streamers of stockings over their shoulders. Our barelegged mammas dance down the steps and join us in the fresh, clean rain . . .”

That’ s me!!!!  I want to be a barelegged mamma!  I want to dance down the steps to join the world in the fresh, clean rain.

We swing our wet and wild-haired mammas ’til we’re all laughing under trinkets of silver rain.

I hug Mamma hard, and she hugs me back. The rain has made us new. As the clouds move off, I trace the drips on Mamma’s face. Everywhere, everyone, everything is misty limbs, springing back to life. “We sure did get a soaking, Mamma,” I say, and we head home purely soothed, fresh as dew, turning toward the first sweet rays of the sun.”

I want to dance in the rain.  I want to get a soaking!  I want to be purely soothed, fresh as dew, to turn toward the first sweet rays of the sun.

How beautiful.  How beautifully written.  How I long to dance – in the rain.

Come on rain!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in cancer, Children's literature, fiction, inspiration, non-fiction, personal journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Come on Rain!

  1. Gwen K. says:

    I remember this book well. Can’t wait to see you dancing in the summer rain as well. Maybe we can join you in the warmth of the summer rain and kick up our heels and get thoroughly soaked!

  2. kiwiskan says:

    Such a wonderful book and such a wonderful description. Reminds me of the rain after a prolonged drought here – and loads of children were outside dancing in the rain (not to mention adults). Not long now…

    • inmycorner says:

      YES!!! I wonder if you were ever one of those “swinging mommas” who threw themselves into the rain? I can’t wait! I really don’t drought like you do – but I can imagine how wonderful the rain would be for the children. ANd YES!!! 6 days! Thanks, kiwiskan!

  3. I feel like singing in the rain….. get it? 😉

  4. pepe says:

    soon..you will get to dance in the rain 🙂

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Oh, there’s nothing like dancing in the rain after a long drought. My mother used to let us dance in the rain, and swing on the rotary clothesline in the rain. She didn’t join in the fun, though! Good to see the widget in the sidebar! Rain is a blessing. I hope it rains on your last day of chemo, so that you can dance in it. 🙂

    • inmycorner says:

      Gallivanta – I am so grateful to you for suggesting the side-bar. It makes me very happy to see the days counting down. What a wonderful memory of you dancing in the rain – and lucky you to have swung on the clothesline! I think the sun is supposed to shine on Tuesday – and the temperature climb to 18 c – full sun! But there is a thunderstorm brewing tonight – when I can snuggle into my bed and listen. The rain day will indeed be special! I will send pictures and think of you – although I won’t have a clothesline!

  6. Leah says:

    After this long and difficult season, I genuinely hope you do get to feel “purely soothed, fresh as dew, and turning toward the first sweet rays of the sun” !!!

Leave a Reply

