One week from now is my last chemo day

One Week Today

One week today will mark the end

Then I can heal, be on the mend

What things await just down the road?

You tend to reap what you have sowed

How have I been throughout this time?

Have I reached out from time to time?

To care for others as they for me

Have I taken time to see –

The joys, the laughter, the caring hands

The gentle gestures which helped me stand

Such kindness surrounds my family and I

Not one of you has passed us by

You’ve wrapped us in your loving care

You’ve listened, cooked, and were always there

One week today and time will see

What things the future has stowed for me

My friends, you’re there through thick and thin

You’ve read my posts and stories within

Today unfolds the seven count hold

I rejoice that I may – just one day grow old

My eyes may grow dim and my joints they may ache

Yet in my old age, I will not hesitate

My blessings I’ll count and openly say

For one week from now – is my last chemo day!

The Final Countdown! (By Europe)  Take a listen.  Go on.  You know you want to!  Grin.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in appreciation, cancer, diary, inspiration, non-fiction, personal journal, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to One week from now is my last chemo day

  1. Gwen K says:

    So excited for you!!!

  2. ….It’s sound like the count down to CHRISTmas Eve!!!!! Take Care my Friend and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    • inmycorner says:

      And I think that’s what it feels like, Kenny! THanks so much for your comments and support. Funnily enough – I hear my Dad speaking through your words. THey are always welcomed.

  3. Gallivanta says:

    A huge HOORAY. I don’t know how it’s done, but how about a countdown widget on your sidebar so we can count off the days with you? 🙂

  4. Janine says:

    I am so excited for you!!

  5. HALLELUJAH! I knew you would kick it to the curb!!!!! 🙂

  6. Leah says:

    I’ll bet that last week was so long, but the end still a bit dreaded? Did you ever think you would make it to that last week!

Leave a Reply

