My Sunset Post

The lens of my glasses wear the dirt of the day

It seems the time has come  for me to put them away

The world outside settles down – kids come in

The noise of their play is now a dull, calm din

My latte from this morning seems a long time ago

With its rich, dark flavor and the froth stirred just “so”

Dinner is over and all that remains

Are the remnants of onions – their smell is retained

The cloud mottled sky I can see from my bed

And the pinks of the horizon if I “just’ move my head

No more wind, no more snow, no more weather for now

The calm of the eve, Mother Nature does allow

The pain I expected to strike in my bones

Has decided to abandon me and leave me alone

“Don’t jinx it,” I warn. “Don’t tempt it to strike.”

If not – then a full-night’s sleep – a gift for tonight!

The digital frame at the side of the room

Will lull and sedate me with memories so soon

Time for the night to wrap close all around

Gone is the day, no where to be found

My glasses must rest, they’ve done their job well

And if they could speak, oh, such tales they would tell

Good – night all my friends, I wish you sweet sleep

Bonne nuit to you all, in my heart, you I keep!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in non-fiction, personal journal, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Sunset Post

  1. Gwen K says:

    Hope your well deserved night’s sleep is complete and that indeed there is no jinx.

  2. Dawna says:

    Sweet dreams

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Hope the night was as peaceful as your poem.

  4. kiwiskan says:

    Hope you slept well

  5. Shhhhhhhhhhh……..sleep well sweet Stacey……..

Leave a Reply

