A good ending?

The story unfolded in every detail

My highs and my lows were no longer veiled

The journey was long and arduous at best

I think I have finally been able to rest

No doubt there’ll be more and more healing to do

My doubts have been lifted – I’ve given my thank-you’s

I’ve written each day in this journal to say

What has happened to me as I searched for a way

To find peace and healing and meaning in life

The cancer was toxic its presence was rife

This moment I’m free from the tumors that spread

Aware a new life has been granted instead

Each day as I rise, put my feet on the floor

I thank God for this journey, my spirit does soar

A new morning awakes and I climb out of bed

Today is a blessing – it’s story I’ve not read

My journey I’ve shared with my family and friends

I’m still not so sure how the tale will aptly end

To you my dear readers and followers on-line

You’ve been great support – you’ve inspired and were kind

Do I keep writing this journal as revelations unfold

Or end right here – are the stories all told?

Are you looking for more, are you waiting to hear

Are you interested, intrigued, or bored by my fears

My doubts, my joys, my insights, and rants

Or is it time to just exit and leave it at that?

I wonder

What would make a good ending?

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in appreciation, cancer, journal, non-fiction, Personal, reflection, Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A good ending?

  1. Gwen K says:

    I love hearing about your highs and lows. Feels like we have some together time for me.

  2. kiwiskan says:

    I honestly think this might be a good time to leave – with you both in that wonderful photo, looking so happy. Blessings

    • inmycorner says:

      Kiwiskan – thanks for your honesty. I’ll give it some more thought for sure. You have been a loyal blogging follower and friend! I have appreciated all of your comments and support.

      • kiwiskan says:

        although if you wanted to change the tone of your blog to general poetry and stories you certainly have a writing gift…

      • inmycorner says:

        You are very kind to suggest this, kiwiskan. I do enjoy writing – much to my surprise. Perhaps a change of tone would be a good idea… I’ll do some thinking. I have so many classroom stories to share – and have met so many students over the years. I am so very flattered that you think I can write – coming from you – a great compliment.

      • kiwiskan says:

        I look forward to your stories. I’ve worked quite a lot in schools, and loved the children…

  3. End???? 🙂 This sure seems like such a beginning. 🙂

    • inmycorner says:

      YES! The beginning of our “new” lives and the end of the old. I wonder if more stories would help – or have I said enough on that topic? My journey still has a long way to go – I guess I’ll know when the time comes… You are wonderful, Colleen! I have so much appreciated you.

      • I am loving what you are writing. I hope as long as you have the stories coming out of you, you share them! 🙂

        Thank YOU for sharing this journey. 🙂

  4. Your strength and attitude has pulled you through. So happy that most issues have been resolved.
    I just hope that the chemo has not robbed you of strength and stamina as it has with me. Used to walk the beach every day, now I am done by the time I get there. But at least have had almost 4 months here in Mexico have found a beautiful place with pool ,close to shopping restaurents, met some wonderful people.
    So much about us escaping Barrie’s winter, so glad you are pulling through. We will fly home Apr. 3rd and will arrange a visit when you are up to it.
    All our love and best wishes.
    Martin and Toni

  5. Gallivanta says:

    You have blogged intensively so perhaps you will feel like moving onto other things. However, I would feel quite sad if I didn’t read something from you now and again.

  6. pepe says:

    keep on writing 🙂 i love your stories and would love to hear more…

  7. Leah says:

    Your stories are not all told! I love reading what each new day brings for you. Write whenever you have a hankering to, you have such a knack for it, it will always be enjoyed by someone, of that I am sure.

Leave a Reply

