Ode to the Radish

Whatever the reason, I am craving radishes.

Yesterday, the little bag of pre-prepared red delights practically jumped into my hands in the grocery store.

They were the first things I unpacked when Kevin and I came home.  I ripped open the bag – really – that’s not like me.  I rinsed off the first one and dipped it in a little salt – and popped the whole thing in my mouth.  Heaven.  I couldn’t pull myself away from the bag – in order to use my hands to do other things, I had to put the entire radish in my mouth all at once.  No worries.  That was quite okay with me.  They were delicious.

I keep eating them… until I went to bed.  They were the first things on my mind when I woke up this morning.  I’m not kidding.  This morning, I went downstairs for my coffee and washed and ate a radish while the coffee was brewing.  What?  Radishes were definitely – are definitely on my mind.  In fact, here I lay in my bed this morning – resting – with an empty bowl beside me.  Confession:  it USED to contain the remainder of that bag of radishes from yesterday.  Gone.

Was it the crunch?  Was it the salt?

What is in a radish that I find so appealing?   Of course, I have to consider that my body has been through a nutritional ringer between the chemo, Neulasta, pain killers, sedatives, and just overall stress.  Maybe there is something “in” radishes that helps my body recover?  Is this what it is?

Curious, and with a little time and quiet on my hands, I took to the internet and found this article from Chatelaine.  (http://www.chatelaine.com/health/diet/radish-recipe-another-nutritious-veggie-great-for-detoxing-the-liver/)  Yup.  Radishes detoxify the liver.  It is a member of the cruciferous family of foods – which are thought to reduce inflammation. According to the article, “Radishes contain a special compound known as RsPHGPx that acts as an antioxidant in the phase 2 liver detoxification pathways.”  Well.  that makes sense for a woman who just lost 1/3 of her liver.  Who knows – this may have some truth. Why not?  In any case – I love them!

The only other time when they have been “so” appealing to me was when I was pregnant with Ben.  Twenty years ago – I felt the same way about radishes.  I wanted to eat nothing but radishes.  Maybe my body needed the same nutrients then as it does now?

In fact – talking about cravings… I also craved a Subway tuna sandwich (toasted) on the week-end.  Not weird – other than I don’t like sandwiches.  My dear hubby went out with David and we ate subs for dinner on the week-end.  My God.  It was like consuming a little piece of Heaven.  What (again)?  What does tuna have in common with radishes?

So – how about my spleen?  Maybe there is some connection between not having a spleen and what is in radishes?  Yup.  Found an article – although – it is about white radishes.  Dad used to grow those on the farm.  (http://www.pingminghealth.com/article/926/chinese-white-radish-and-indigestion/).  True?  Who knows.  Again.

Happily digesting away, my body feels quite content.  I am satiated.  For now.  But I am planning a trip this morning back to the grocery store to acquire another two bags of radishes.  Why not?  I’ll definitely be planting them in our little garden this summer… that’s for sure.  I will pluck those red beauties out of the warm soil, brush off the dirt and pop them in my mouth.  I have no qualms about it – and no worries about “taking” that which is “ode”.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey, confessions, diet, gardening, gourmet, journal, Personal, true story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ode to the Radish

  1. Gwen K says:

    Enjoy the flavour of spring on a beautiful spring-like morning.

  2. Alan Baglien says:

    Our bodies alert us to needs in strange ways. If they help you – great! personally I am not a radish fan, beats, yes.

  3. kiwiskan says:

    amazing what our bodies know!

  4. I believe our bodies are telling us what they need. Well, for the most part, some of the things I eat are ME telling my body what I WANT. 😉

  5. RoSy says:

    The body knows what it wants & needs. 😉

Leave a Reply

