A dozen white roses

A dozen white roses would have marked the day

With a vodka martini and two olives, “okay”?

Today we’d have danced and laughed loud with glee

Today it would seem we are both so pain-free

I still feel you with  me in the warmth of the sun

And together we’d marvel that you’ll soon be 91!

Your “face” you’d put on before leaving your room

And a little splash of Chanel – your favorite perfume

On the balcony we’d sit to admire the view

We’d talk of our lives and our family’s too

A good steak, baked potato, caesar salad – the feast

Or onion soup, escargot and shrimp salad – at least

Each birthday, occasion, celebration you’d mark

No way to forget special moments – re-mark!

Happy birthday, my Mother, accept these words though they’re few –

And a dozen white roses in Heaven from me … just for you

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in gourmet, Memories, personal journal, Poetry, sentimental and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A dozen white roses

  1. Gwen K says:

    Happy Heavenly birthday to a very fine woman.

  2. Alan Baglien says:

    Mom is still Mom, no matter what or where!

  3. This is so lovely. Well done.

  4. Dawna says:

    What a wonderful tribute to a very kind, supportive lady —- she is shining down on you

  5. Happy Birthday to your mom Stacey (sorry I’m a day late!). This was lovely.

    • inmycorner says:

      I kept picturing that doodle you did for me while I write this post.. Still one of the best gifts ever!

      • 😀 THAT makes me very happy! And I’ve got to get your next one done!!!!! (By the way do you want me to edit it with borders and such?)

      • inmycorner says:

        I will be visiting the hospital for my follow-up on Thursday of this week – and by the way – one of my surgeon’s is supposed to be appearing on the Ellen Degeneres show in the spring. Cool, eh? And I trust your judgement, Colleen! Whatever you think is best!

      • Oh let me know when. I LOVE ELLEN! 🙂 Okay, I will work on it this week. It shouldn’t take me too long. I like the one of you being lifted. Let me know if you want hair, face mask, or anything special like that as a identifying symbol or part of it. Or as part of the doctors. Or how many doctors specifically. 🙂 So prayers for Thursday! Coming up!

      • inmycorner says:

        Exciting – and I will let you know. You see, he is also a musician and just cut his second CD. Imagine. THe singing gyny! Spiked hair would be great – think that’s good. Two doctors, Colleen in particular – more but I don’t know who they were .. You are awesome.

      • Okay, if you want more specifics just email them to me. Spiked hair for you? 🙂 I like that!!

  6. RoSy says:

    Happy belated bday to your mom in Heaven
    {Hugs}

  7. Leah says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

