Cabin Fever

Another frigid morning

Oh, when will this fever end?

Frosted windows obscure my view,

Spring, Mother Nature, please do send!

Four walls collapse around me

I lay stiff as fallen snow

I need some doors to open wide

To give me somewhere to go!

Cold in the morning, cold at night

A tundra of toxic air

Blasts hard down upon me

Here in this Arctic lair!

I need escape,  I need to breathe

I’m stifled locked inside

What’s this?  My boy extends his hand

And turns around the tide

His smile is bright his hopes are high

He lingers by my side

And whisks me away to a brighter day

Cabin fever?  I’ll no longer in you abide!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cabin Fever

  1. Gwen K says:

    Awww. Love how his smile can brighten your day. (He does have a great smile).

  2. We are stuck inside too! Nice piece of work!

  3. Janine Baines says:

    One of the joys of living in this beautiful country. The only hope is the He never fails us and after winter always comes Spring. Love you. Xoxo.

  4. I love that he is your boy, and will always make you smile.

  5. kiwiskan says:

    You’ve certainly been having a rough winter over there…

  6. pepe says:

    Stacey, you and your husband look so similar..and there is a saying in my place that the true lovers look very similar..i guess your picture says it all 🙂

  7. RoSy says:

    I too am so ready for spring. Hope that you’ve gotten more sunshine since this post.
    {Hugs}

Leave a Reply

