Vive la famille – ma joie de vivre!

The world is just waking up – well, my world.

Kevin and I have had our “private” coffee cloaked in the intimacy of the wee hours of the morning.

I have gasped at the temperatures reported on the Weather Network and firmly decided to hibernate for the day once again.  Although I am anxious to get started walking again – if even to the corner, I refuse to step into that vortex of Polar air!

The dog, Jazz, has had her morning treat and she is now nestled next to Kevin and I hoping for a scrap of “any” human food that may land near her – although no one is eating.  She remains optimistic, unfailing, and vigilant in her quest for a tasty morsel of …. something.

There is a slight disturbance from the bedroom upstairs as David’s feet hit the floor.  Jazz springs to life to greet David, knowing this will be the source of her second morning treat.  “Thump, thump, thump” and down comes David.  “Good-morning, Mom.  Good-morning, Dad”, he smiles as he approaches Kevin and I.  There is always a morning hug and kiss.  David is our little “minouche” and has been since day one.  Happy with the prospect of a day off to be spent with family, David makes a bee-line to the computer to sneak in a quick game of Mine-Craft.

Grandma knocks on the door leading her up from her apartment in our house to our main gathering area.  (Jazz jumps, once again, for joy!) “Coming up”, she announces as if a warning is necessary to halt any “activity” that may not want a spectator.  “Good morning, Grandma”, greets Kevin.  “How did you sleep?”

After a debrief of her evening, Grandma proceeds to the kitchen to prepare her toast and tea.  It is a routine with which we have all become very familiar as Grandma has made the transition from living on her own to being adopted back into our family.  It may be a little noisier than she was used to when she lived on her own, but it is a house that is bustling with love and activity.

There is no sign of Katya yet as she takes advantage of the opportunity to sleep-in… a necessity of this teen…. soon-to-turn-adult.  She will soon wake-up and join us in the kitchen and we will all be de-briefed on the movie she saw the night before with her friends.

Later this morning, we will call Ben and try to get a “read” on how he is doing while he is oh, so far away.  Eventually, the details of his days will start to leak out from his original “I’m good” response and I will feel better about his education adventure in Thunder Bay.  Of course, we must begin our conversation by talking about the weather – that has become a routine from which all other information can spring.  Only a few more months until Ben comes home…. and then our family will be complete.

I hear a bird singing cheerfully outside my window.  I wonder how this little bird can be so cheerful when it is soooo cold outside!  What has caused this happy little tune?  Is it the sun, it is the cold, or maybe it is just happy to “be”.

La joie de vivre.  The joy of life.

This is my family.  And I am blessed to have been given “time” to appreciate these simple morning banalities that fill my soul with peace.

It may not be that the world is just waking up, rather, that I am waking up to the world!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vive la famille – ma joie de vivre!

  1. Gwen K says:

    Happy Family Day to our extended family.

  2. Dawna says:

    Enjoy your Family Day

  3. 😀 What a glorious way to wake!

  4. kiwiskan says:

    How lovely to be able to feel such a part of your family. I feel that I should share something of mine. I’m a great-grandmother now – five lovely grandchildren, and two little great grand-children. My husband and I have been married for fifty years, and thank God for every one of them. God bless you and your family today.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Perhaps it is a re-awakening to the world. 😉

Leave a Reply

