Am I…. Cancer Free?

This fragile state in which I live

So much to offer and life to give

I dance, I sing, I shout with glee

…but am I really cancer free?

The day breaks softly on my bed

A ray of light caresses my head

I rise, I walk, I shout with glee

…. but am I really cancer-free?

The sun sets once again

It hesitates on the horizon and then

I breathe, I pray, I shout with glee

….but am I really cancer-free?

It seems so strange this body of mine

Separated in two by this jagged line

I look, I hear, I am filled with glee

… am I really cancer-free?

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Am I…. Cancer Free?

  1. You are full of life. 🙂

    What a powerful post Stacey. So full of joy, and yet….it still whispers that fear.

    But shouts that joy.

    Amazing!

  2. Hopebringsstrength says:

    S

  3. I’d love to give you a resounding, yes!, but we both know I can’t. I can offer my prayers and a hearty Amen, but must as you, leave it in God’s hands. With all the questions, doubts, and joys and uncertainty life holds for each of us!

  4. inmycorner says:

    Barney – you are right and thank-you for that honest statement – it doesn’t scare me as much as shakes me into reality. Your prayers have been most helpful through some of my darkest times, so thank-you. I know I was not alone … but carried.

  5. Gallivanta says:

    It must be hard not to wonder. I suppose the answer is yes, at this moment, you are.

  6. earthchanges says:

    Beautiful poem. Have your ever thought about Natural Cancer Treatments. There are lots of people curing cancer or extending their life this way. Find a Natural Health Practitioner in your area. The Hollow Earth Network has some healing products too. We have a link on our site. Sending love and light Scott and C.

    • inmycorner says:

      Absolutely! I have done a lot of research on cancer treatments and found some great resources. I have not, yet, seen yours and so will investigate. Thank-you. I am an advocate of diet, exercise, and meditation.

  7. April says:

    The question you ask is the same one I have asked for over 3 years—wow, almost 4 years! After allowing myself to become mucked up in the anxiety, I sought the help of a therapist. Her words were…”as of this moment, you are cancer free—until you are told different”.

Leave a Reply

