A Stitch in Time Saves…..57 Others?

“You’re my new hero!” exclaimed the nurse practitioner when I rose from her examining table.  Okay, I didn’t really rise – it was more of an awkward roll/ straddle/ lift by Kevin. How can “I” be the hero when it was everyone else who saved me?  It’s like accepting the Oscar when someone else wrote the script.  I did nothing but “accept” my fate.  It was everyone else from my Kevin and kids, to friends and family, to nurses and doctors who did it all.   I guess “I” am the student that makes everyone else look good.  And that is just fine by me!

Seriously, this time, last week, I was just freshly cut open and my team of doctors at Toronto General Hospital were busy “removing” me-that-was-not-me.  To read about the day I received my cancer diagnosis, check out “Words”  (https://billduff.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/words/)

I wonder a lot about a lot of things that happened when I was under general anesthetic:

– Did they began at the top with my diaphragm/ stuck lung, or it they began at the bottom with my hysterectomy?

– Did I wince at all when the port when into my artery or when it was stick in securely so as to not move around my neck?

– Did they go “around” the belly-button for some technical reason?

– Did they comment, “wow, she looks healthy inside” or “wow, she is sick inside”?

– Did they do something to my right leg since it remains slightly numb to the touch?

– Did I sneeze or anything else (like fart?) during surgery?

– What was the temperature in that operating room since I was so cold when I woke up?

– Did they play music? (Did anyone sing?)

– Did anyone crack a joke?  (I know Kevin, my hubby, would have!)

– Where did all the blood “out” of me get to and was that the measure for the 4 – pint replacement?

– Did my ribs get in the way?

– How difficult is it to stretch and reconnect a diaphragm anyhow?

– Did anyone fight or disagree?  (like in House?!)

– Why the heck is my back so sore when it was my insides that were removed?

I could go on all day – I am so very curious. At the end of the day, though, I guess all I know is that I have stitches and bruises.  How am I to know what pattern my digestive system now makes compared to before and who cares?  I am currently – “cancer-free”.  And I will never forget the true heroes who got me to this point!

For another back-story about my first chemo treatment check out Mark And Bea at:

(https://billduff.wordpress.com/2014/10/01/mark-and-bea/)

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Stitch in Time Saves…..57 Others?

  1. Gwen K says:

    Wow, stitches out already? You are my hero too. (but so are the doctors and nurses who helped you during and after the surgery).

  2. Tom Graves says:

    Great to hear the words – “cancer free!” Be blessed with total restoration in Jesus’ Name. Tom

  3. Wow! just keep om keeping on!

  4. Today we replace “why” with “did” and we sing HALLELUJAH!!!! 🙂 I see I have comments waiting on me! But it will be later tonight before I get to them. I can’t wait! It feels good to see so much waiting from you! I had to get to your blog first. You are amazing. Look at you you blog trooper you. You CANCER FREE blog trooper you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  5. Terri Lynn says:

    WOW! “Cancer Free” great to hear…..sleep well!!

  6. pepe says:

    ‘Cancer free’ so glad to hear those words 🙂 you have endured it very well…well done Stacey..

    • inmycorner says:

      Thank-you, Pepe! There is still some chemo in my future and clearly lots of preventative maintenance – life will never be the same – but I HAVE a future now!

      • pepe says:

        yup, you have to take care of yourself..even one of my friend dad had surgery for cancer long back and so far, he is doing great and healthy, so don’t worry..you will be all right with good diet, exercise and of course writing also.

  7. Janine says:

    Your incision looks great! See you soon XOXO

Leave a Reply

