Snow Day!

The snow-blowers are cranked up full throttle in an effort to dig their owners out of the drive-way to create a clear path “out”.  To the parents, today is a nightmare.  To the kids, today is a dream!  Today – is a snow day.

From my bed, my view is obstructed by a mixture of curtain, frost, and snow.  I know it snowed last night – but how much?  I don’t want to really know.  Knowing will compel me to shovel.  I don’t want to shovel when it is -25 C.  Not now.  I am warm in my bed.  It is a snow day!  I sink down under the covers and enjoy the quiet, the darkness, the calm.

Yet – I hear the snow-blower rage.  It goes on and on.  There is no mercy.  Grrrrrrrind!  Grovel, grovel.  It bites the snow – it rips the snow and tosses it far away.  “Snow day, me arse!” I can almost hear it say!

I pull the covers up over my ears.  I pause.  It is tough to say at first if the material is thick enough to filter the sounds.  I re-wrap the shawl around my head to cover my baldness.  The cold stabs my head like a sharp knife.  I snuggle deeper into the blankets.  A draft is at my back and I shift the blankets sideways to insulate me better.  Is it quiet yet?  I wait.  I am still.  I can be lazy today – it is a snow day!

A snow-mobile zooms by and temporarily drowns out the drone of the snow-blower.  There is no filter for that sound.  It penetrates my mind and strikes a childhood memory.  I am holding onto a rope-tow while on my cross-country skiis.  Dad is driving the ski-doo and I am being pulled behind.  The field is white with snow.  The trees are leafless.  The air is still.  The scene is embedded into my brain.  I feel the cold.  I hear the engine.  I see my Dad smile.  Funny, I am my Mom watching us from the kitchen window – smiling.  I am ripped from my memory to the present as the snow-mobile returns and passes by my window through which I cannot see.  Nor will I get up to see.  Not now.  Thank-you very much, it is a snow day!

The blower idles.  Clearly the worker has taken leave of the machine for some reason.  Still – the blower idles.  And idles… no amount of blanket can conceal that sound.  I can’t sleep. It is difficult to rest.  My mind moves to the things I should be doing – I am the worker after all, not the kid!  It may be a snow-day – but I have things to do.

I hear the television turn on downstairs.  David has discovered today’s surprise!  A day off for him!  I feel his joy – and remember that same joy I felt as a kid.  Spaghetti!  I remember eating spaghetti on snow days – and the smells that came from my Mom’s kitchen.  I’ll need to buy some tomato juice today to re-create that same experience for David.

Kevin has left for work. He is the adult.  Not me.  Not today.  Kevin faced the cold – cleared the drive.  Just a quick little shovel cleared enough of the driveway to prevent build-up under the tires.  If only that snow-blower had navigated itself a few hundred metres down the road!  Oh, well.  There is no rush to leave the house – or the warm blankets of my bed.  It is a snow day!

Grandma is in the kitchen clattering dishes.  The day proceeds for her as usual.  Snow day or no snow day – life continues.  Today – she will have more company.  Her day is louder.  Her news station high-jacked by David’s programs. It is a fight for channels.  In either case, there is conflict and drama.

It is a snow day.  Do I get up?  The snow-blower continues to remind me of my adult duties.  “Get up and get that drive-way cleared, Stacey!”

My inner child responds, “I will.  Later.  Today, it is a snow day!’

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Snow Day!

  1. Lucky! We were told for days we would have copious amounts of snow. PfT. Here I am at work! Enjoy your snow day! 🙂 And while you’re visiting with your parents in those memories, give them a hallo! From me!

    • inmycorner says:

      Well – – as I reply to this comment I am facing two snow shovels … calling my name – you know where Im going with this one. Good exercise and all, but… you know… in any case. I will put on my happy face and my happy boots and mitts and all that jazz and out I go. Still rather shovel than Have to go to work… grin.

      • Like my husband says….a bad day on the bike is better than a good day in the office. And I would say a bad day at the snow shovel is better than a good day at the office. Wait, let me think about that…..nope, yep, I’m going to stick with the shovel. Shovel away!!!!! 🙂

      • inmycorner says:

        Actually – the shovel is almost like a siren call to the neighbours to come out and play. It took me so long to finish today as neighbours came out and over one by one to catch up on news. The sun was shining and the day was beautiful. A good omen, Colleen. No one, though, on bikes drove by. grin.

      • Sun and snow! What a joy it brought them out to see you and catch up. 🙂 Sorry no bikes!!! I’ve seen a few here, but we have no snow now, only bone chilling cold. 🙂

  2. kiwiskan says:

    love this story – so wonderful to have a reason to just snuggle down again…

Leave a Reply

