It takes more courage…

It takes more courage to listen to someone crying – than it does to cry.

It takes more courage to support than it does to be supported.

It takes more courage to love than to be loved.

It takes more courage:

– to watch a person move through cancer than it does to do cancer;

– to read about someone’s cancer than it does to write about cancer;

– to listen to someone feeling sad for themselves than it does to speak about one’s sadness;

– to do something about being sad than it does to not do something;

– to live with cancer than it does to die with cancer;

– to let someone experience pain than it does to try to fix the pain;

– to let someone be alone than it does to be present;

– to be patient and wait for the cure than it does to demand a cure;

– to watch someone work out issues than it does to solve the issues;

– to think about what someone else may be going through and put yourself in his/her shoes than it does to speak from your own mind;

– to bite your tongue than it does to speak out and correct someone when they may be wrong;

– to clarify than it does to assume;

– to accept than it does to judge;

– to get back up than it does to stay down;

– to admit you are sad than it does to pretend you are okay.

You say I am courageous – I am far from it. Β I have a lot to learn from you who have supported me through this journey with cancer.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey, Grief and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It takes more courage…

  1. It takes courage to be humble and gracious. So much truth to all of this Stacy. You speak powerfully and with wisdom.

    • inmycorner says:

      Hmm – while I thank-you for those kind words, today – I just don’t feel it. I did, however, really like your post and enjoyed the playful exploration as you imagined an interaction with history!

      • I understand. The not feeling it I mean. So we will just leave that where it is. πŸ™‚ Because by golly you don’t have to feel it. πŸ™‚

        And that brush with history just kind of floods my brain with all kinds of thoughts.

  2. Gwen K says:

    Courage takes many different forms. You and your family have shown us many facets of courage. Your courage bucket may feel low right now, but with support of family and friends, the bucket will be filling up again.

  3. Pam Fitzsimmons says:

    Are you kidding? How can you say you are not courageous? You dare to let us in on a very personal and scary part of your life and all we can do is read your words and hope and pray all goes well (which I know it will). I read your posts and cry or laugh with you, cheer you on from afar and feel a part of your journey. Then I go back to my life until you courageously post again.

    Thank you Stacey for being brave enough to share your journey with us.

    • inmycorner says:

      I am not kidding! (grin) I guess it is always easier to see the strength in others. I count on it. I dare let you in because I need support – not because I am courageous. In fact, I am fearful and letting you share my fear helps me. Again – it takes more courage to read what I write than for me to write it — I think. Pam – I am so very grateful that you feel the way you do and that you care or dare to join me.

  4. kiwiskan says:

    and we have learned so much from you Stacey. Keep that smile

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Are these the moments you feared would be so long as you waited for surgery? πŸ™‚

  6. Donna says:

    You have no idea how much courage comes through in your words in these pages. You may not always feel courageous but I promise you, the attitude that you have chosen to take while going through this horrendous battle, is nothing but courage. Even when you aren’t feeling it, you get up another day to fight back and do what you can with what strength you have that day, or that moment to live your life. Feeling fear and not letting it cripple you, is courage. πŸ™‚

    • inmycorner says:

      No – no, I don’t. I just don’t see there is any other attitude to take. I guess my parents never let me quit – and maybe that’s something I learned and internalized. Who knows? I do know, however, they never quit. Thanks for these words, Donna. It is so much easier to not be crippled when I am supported by others with such wisdom, kindness, and strength. True.

  7. pepesapam says:

    You are one of the courageous person that i come across and still through your words and your fight you have inspire me….!!
    Thank you for your unending courage πŸ™‚

    • inmycorner says:

      Pepesapam – you are toooo kind. And I have been able to be stronger because of support from people like you. YOU are the one researching about cancer. so – thank-you.

      • pepesapam says:

        i am just saying what i felt, its not being about kind..:-) and i do hope i make a contribution to cancer someday, coz right now i am just a beginneer.

Leave a Reply

