When Do I Dance With Ellen?

When Do I Dance With Ellen?

Hmmm.  Life is so busy these days – I’m not even sure I would have time be on the Ellen Degeneres show even if she invited me.

Let’s see – next week is chemo so on Monday I get blood work.  And we have been invited out for dinner!  Imagine!  Maybe I’ll be able to be around people by then.  So, Monday is out.   I’m already booked.

Two days after I have chemo – all day.  So that day is out.

Then, there is Christmas with my family.  I don’t want to leave them to appear on Ellen so that week is out.

I have a couple appointments with my therapist.  I don’t know what I’ll say yet – but I always find something and I enjoy talking to her – so there are a couple Mondays that are out.

Then – there is New Year’s – it will be quiet, but I really don’t want to travel then.  Out.

Then, there is my CT scan.  Not sure when, but it looks like it is before the end of the month.  So, that day is out.  (I don’t like CT scans now as the dye causes me to feel so warm and odd).

Then – I meet with the doctor for the follow up. Don’t know what kind of results the CT will yield – so if they are not good, then my mood may not be great for dancing.  I can’t be on a bad mood when I’m on Ellen, so that day is out.

In January, I am booked for an endoscopy and a colonoscopy.  The prep for the bowel scope is always so much fun, but I think I can only handle so much at a time – so really – January is gone.

February – well – there is Groundhog Dog which I cannot miss!  Puxatony Phil (spelling?) is great but I trust Wyerton Willie – so Canada it is!  Besides, who celebrates Groundhog Day in California?  And – it is David’s birthday.

March – geez – Katya’s birthday!  I have to gear up for that one for a while and then it will take a month to recover.  Provided I have had my surgery (if I am then a candidate) and I am cleared for travel insurance (doubtful) and I don’t have radiation or more chemo (hmmm – who knows) then there is the family trip to Myrtle Beach.  So – tough to travel south and then west.  Won’t work.

April – spring.  Who wants to miss spring by being in California?

May – nice weather.  I may have a small window of opportunity to travel to see Ellen then…

June – Time to garden.  I will be soooo busy watching plants grow and leaves bud.  No can do, Ellen!  Besides, that is school grad and I need to be there to see my students graduate.  One thing a month, Ellen.  Sorry.

July – is the month of birthdays – unless we all travel to USA, I simply cannot go.  Plus, I hope to be ringing the bell at Royal Victoria Hospital that indicate a person is cancer free.  That is enough celebrating for a life-time!

August – will be tooooo hot in California.  I will sweat to death on stage, no doubt.

September, October, November are such busy months to enjoy the colours of fall…

And then – back to Christmas.

Hmmm.  So, when do I have time to dance with Ellen?

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to When Do I Dance With Ellen?

  1. hopebringsstrength says:

    I would move heaven and earth to “Dance with Ellen”! I can think of no other human being on the planet that generates and exemplifies more Hope and Joy, then ELLEN. If you ever get that special invite…Carpe Diem my friend! Much Love

  2. kiwiskan says:

    Only when all the important things are done…

  3. Mandy St.Germaine says:

    You clearly have more going on than most of us, including Ellen, so I think she should make the trip to Canada to dance with you!

  4. Pam Fitzsimmons says:

    Can’t wait to hear you ring that bell! 😄

  5. Ring that bell and dance vicariously with her and everyone else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  6. Gwen K says:

    Not much of a dancer myself, but sure will be dancing when you ring that bell, my dear friend!

Leave a Reply

