It Takes a Community to Fight Cancer

I feel overwhelmed today.  And, for a change, it is a good thing! I am over-whelmed with appreciation for my community of family and friends.   I don’t know where to begin to say thank-you, but I feel compelled to somehow and modestly acknowledge the many people who have stood by me in my fight against cancer.  I have not come to this stage alone.  I don’t know how anyone could fight cancer alone.  I have always felt supported, listened to, and loved.  What can I say to acknowledge my appreciation?  It feels rather inadequate to write a general thank-you, and there will be more stories coming, but for now, and at the risk of droning on…. here goes.

My family.  It has been my immediate family who has adjusted to my moods, extreme cooking, and short hair.  I do count on their support daily.  Our home is a home where there is much love and kindness.  Sometimes there is chaos – but more oft’ than not it is a home where I know it is safe to laugh, cry, and even be upset.  To Kevin, Ben, Katya, David, and Grandma – thank you!

My extended family.  If I were to begin listing them by name I would certainly run out of ink – screen – type — space? But my family provides me with moral support ranging from up-beat text messages on my phone to comments on this blog to thoughtful gifts to lift my spirit.  They include my brother, sisters (extended), brothers-in-law, and sisters-in-law.

Then there are cousins:  from near and far.  We have stuck by one another through thick and thin and are proud of our heritage.  They call me names (stinky), and make me bets – which I win and for which they don’t pay up (ie.  albums), we laugh with one another and clearly we tease one another.  I am over-whelmed by their thoughtfulness.

My friends.  How did I get to be so lucky on that front?  I have known some friends since kindergarten – some from young couple-hood – some from university – some from the beginning of my teaching career – some from the neighbourhood.  I have received daily wishes, texts, emails and email letters, prayers, beautiful blankets and chocolates, books, a quilt,  hugs, phone calls, home-cooked meals to name a few of the ways my friends have offered me support.  Overwhelmed yet?

My Colleagues.  What to say about them?  I have not been forgotten.  I am still included in the loop as they offer me weekly care packages that just keep coming.  I am honoured to have worked with such a caring and compassionate crew of people who are so suited for the jobs they do as role models for students.

Fellow bloggers.  There are so many amazing people who are a part of my blogging community.  I appreciate you all for your struggles, your celebrations, and your daily muses.  On nights when I can’t sleep I have my friends in Australia including (Gallivanta), New Zealand (Kiwissoar).  There are my stead-fast supporters including The Chatter Master and Pepesapam.  And one of the first supporters of my Dad and I, Morning Story and Dilbert.  I love your stories.  I follow your posts.  I count on your commentaries.

If the Emmy for best supporting actor or actress were awarded for support – I would think there would not be enough Emmys to go around!  I count on you.  I am humbled by you.  I thank-you.  It takes a community to fight cancer – and I am so grateful to be a part of “this” – my community.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It Takes a Community to Fight Cancer

  1. kiwiskan says:

    I am so glad you are getting such lovely support – and aren’t cousins wonderful ♥

  2. Gallivanta says:

    I am with Maureen re the cousins. Like you I don’t have many but the ones I have are precious. And what a beautiful thank you to everyone. Do you remember, as a kid, linking arms and hands together with others to provide a seat for a third person? It was fun to do and it was fun to be the one on the seat of arms and hands. I doubt your experience could be called fun in any way, but your community are certainly linking hands and arms to make your journey as comfortable as possible.

  3. I am so very grateful that you are overwhelmed by the support you have. And isn’t it a funny journey? Looking back at how you connected with everyone, and yet, the connection you have with each person, now, may not ‘resemble’ the initial connection. There is a reason for all of our connections. I hope you bask in this love ALWAYS. 🙂

  4. Gwen K says:

    What a wonderful, overwhelming feeling. Far better than the other overwhelming feelings that can take over our minds from time to time. LOVE YOU a WHOLE BUNCH.

  5. pepesapam says:

    ahhh Stacey, it is so sweet of you, even though i did not do so much, but you considered me as one of your supporter, i am really overhelmed by your gesture !! I just read your stories and love the way you write…!!! Thank You very much Stacey, I meant it from my heart..!! I will always support you with whatever i can do for you..:-) You made me smile today..!!! God Bless you always Stacey and lets keep fighting ..!!

  6. You should have issued a Kleenex Alert on this post!!!! LOL
    Please know that our prayers are with you!!!!!! Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

    • inmycorner says:

      Ha- sorry – I thought it was simply a post filled with gratitude. I hope you saw that I included you — I will never forget the smiles you brought to my Dad’s face. You gave him a purpose and helped him find meaning during his last month of life. I will never forget. Thank-you Kenny, for your prayers and posts!

  7. Pingback: It Takes a Community to Fight Cancer | High Flight

  8. Mary Kendall says:

    It was hard finding this blog, Stacey, going from your other blog of the war stories, but I finally got here. I’m so sorry you’ve had to deal with Ovarian cancer. Since I’ve only just found this and haven’t read through the blog, maybe it’s good to start with your comments and thanks to all those who have been there for you. Fighting cancer–or any such serious and threatening illness–takes a lot of personal strength, but having a community of friends who are there for you to support you is so important. I have two friends currently battling cancer, so this is fresh on my mind. I hope your battle is over and resolved. Of course I know the struggle continues in so many ways. I wish you only the very best in all ways.

Leave a Reply

