You Look Fabulous!

Those are perhaps the three best words I could have heard today.  They were spoken by my nurse at RVH – just prior to my blood-test results were reviewed by the doctor.

“Any vomiting or nausea, Stacey?”

“No.”

“Any pain or discomfort, Stacey?”

“Just my knees earlier on – but nothing serious.”

“Any other reaction?”

“No.”

“You are doing very well – and you look great.  I’ll get the doctor.”

I held my breath until Dr. Singh came into the room.  “How are you?  You look great!” said Dr. Singh.

“Thank-you.  I feel great.” I replied to her.

“Well, Stacey, you blood-work looks good so we can go ahead with chemo on Wednesday.  Your platelets continue to go down and your CA-125 is about one-third of what is was when we first started treatment. It looks like you are responding well to the chemo-therapy.”

I think I almost peed my pants with joy with those words.

“Could you lie down for me so I can check your abdomen?”

Up I got – and thanked the Lord it was not another internal exam.  Dr. Singh poked around my abdomen.  “There is no swelling here.  Your tummy is flat and soft.”  said Dr. Singh.  “That’s good.  Swelling is not a good sign.”

“Well…” I said.  “I’m happy then that my stomach is flat and soft!” I said in my outside voice.  “That’s the first time that I’ve been happy to have a “soft” stomach!”  I said in my head.  Again – I could have peed my pants!!!!  Is it okay to be so optimistic?  Should I be happy?

Damn right I should.  It looks like things are moving forward the way they are supposed to be moving.  I still have a long way to go – maybe more chemo than the next one – maybe surgery – but at “least” I am making progress!!!!!  And – I look fabulous!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to You Look Fabulous!

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Fabulous! Fabulous!

  2. hopebringsstrength says:

    HOOOOOOOORAY!!!!!! Looking fabulous, feeling fabulous and thinking fabulous! The Full package! MUCHO LOVE!

  3. Tom Graves says:

    Great news!!! God is good!

  4. Gwen says:

    I too thought you looked fabulous the last time I saw you. SO happy that the news was good today. I smiled the whole way home from work. Cheers to a job well done. Keep working so hard a getting better. Can’t wait til you can raise a glass in your honour when you ring that bell!!

  5. Kati says:

    So happy you got some positive news. Keep up the good work!

  6. Janine says:

    Great News!! You do look fabulous!! Got Kevin’s text and all I could say is praise God!! See you later this week. Xoxo

  7. I haven’t even seen you and I know you look fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  8. Rita says:

    So thrilled … and relieved, with your progress! Kevin texted me the results last night around midnight. I was afraid to read the text but got up, retrieved the phone from the living room and read …

    Keep doing what your doing … I mean everything medical of course but more, the food you are eating, the exercise you are getting, the rest you are forcing on yourself. It all looks like a magical combination.

    • inmycorner says:

      You bet I am going to continue, Rita. Thank-you for your vote of support and confidence. I know I am not out of the woods yet and really – likely only beginning this journey – I don’t know what lays ahead – but at least I know I am on the right path with GOOD people beside me! Thank-you!

  9. pepesapam says:

    yaayyyy…!!! you are beautiful…!!! and yes you have every right to be happy and optimistic 🙂

Leave a Reply

