What scares me more than Zombies at Halloween?

My grocery bill today:

Blueberry juice for $5.99 and … a box of Tangy Halloween Twists for $5.99

Canola Mayo  for $6.49  and… a bag of Assorted Hershey Chocolates for $8.99

Organic Brown Flour for $6.49 (on sale)  and… a box of Mars chocolate bars for $8.99

Black Kale for $3.00 and… a box of Cheese sticks for $4.49

Organic Pumpkin seeds for $4.99 and… a box of Hershey Candy for $14.99

Swiss chard – $2.49

Red Swiss chard – $2.49

Black Kale – $3.00

Agave – $8.99

Organic ketchup – $5.49

Shopping for groceries this morning was very troubling.  On one hand, I was buying such junk that was full of empty calories, artificial colour, and artificial flavour – at the same time I was buying organic, healthy, natural fresh greens and foods.  I grappled with the concept of what I myself would consume and what I would be shelling out to children- the foods were in such stark contrast.  How could I be feeding such toxic crap to those who are the most vulnerable?  How could I gift candies made with artificial ingredients under the pretense of “treating” children?  When did I become so darned “unconscious” about Halloween treats?  I would make home-made treats if I knew they would not be simply thrown out under suspicion of “product tampering”.  Seriously – if you want to talk about product tampering – why not look at the ingredients listed on that bag of cheesies or sour candy?  In my basket this morning sat the greatest oxymoron of our days:  Halloween “treats”.

What scares me most at Halloween is not the ghosts and goblins – rather the crap that we offer in hand-fulls to our children.

What scares me most at Halloween is not the zombies – rather the money that we spend on giving cancer foods to our children when so many starve for real food.

What scares me most at Halloween is not the knocking on strangers’ doors to ask for candy – rather  – no wait – that is scary!

How did I get to this place where dinner on Halloween night is a grain-fed grown beef chili with organic beans and sustainably grown organic salad greens – followed by an unmitigated flight of fancy into the world of artificial candies and treats?  How do I get out of this place?

Indeed what scares me more than Zombies at Halloween is the dead-wrong foods my children bring home from well-intended neighbours.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to What scares me more than Zombies at Halloween?

  1. kiwiskan says:

    but take heart – chocolate is a vegetable 🙂

  2. Feeling some guilt myself…..

  3. Gwen K says:

    The contrast of telling children never take candy from strangers except on Hallowe’en has always seemed odd to me.

  4. Rita says:

    THAT blog needs to appear somewhere more public … send it the paper’s editorial column! The timing is perfect. And post it separately from your blog to your Facebook page and people will begin sharing. It will make people THINK!

    • inmycorner says:

      I would be tarred and feathered I think in this day and age whereby candy has become a right! But thanks for the vote of confidence! And – yes – I do agree I would like for us all to think more – question why…

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Which is why I am glad Halloween isn’t such a big deal here. And it’s such a pity that home-made products or simple things like an orange are not acceptable anymore for safety reasons.

  6. Janine says:

    Candy apples get banged up in the bag, but we always made a special trip to the honey man in town that gave out small tubs of honey and went to Mrs. Hebel’s to get her homemade popcorn balls I can taste them as I type this entry. There is something about moderation my grandmother always said……and she even smoked- rarely but did once in a while…..hmmm…she died at the age of 99. So …. we can not stop all chemicals, but we certainly can take them in moderation…. I personally think it is almost impossible in this day and age to not consume some…. I just try to limit them whenever possible….but I love Hershey’s chocolate…the American stuff is better, but it has so many chemicals in it compared to ours…. So when I come over, I will have one of each….
    Love you XOXO

    • inmycorner says:

      Oh yum – I love popcorn balls – I see they had an “owner” and “creator” you knew. Makes the difference. And yes, moderation is the key – but it seems that society is blindily upping the ante – what is moderate today was extreme yesterday… just saying. IN any case.. we do need to wake up and start asking questions. Love you too, Janine! ANd, Happy Halloween afterall!

  7. Leah says:

    I remember my parents giving out apples for a Halloween or two. My dad stuck one in my bag and I said, “Dad, you’re just going to make me throw that away later” he disagreed, but I was right. My parents threw away all the apples I had including that one. Maybe I’ll give out fruit cups tomorrow???

    • inmycorner says:

      Ha – fruit cups? you may as well give out raw eggs in a carton. Sad about the apples since they are soooo yummy and expensive now. I have to think of something better next year. When Katya was young she and a friend collected can goods – Free the Children’s iniative “Hunger for Halloween”. SHe got mixed reviews. SOme people were happy to give candy – but not a canned good – they were offended. Never understood that.

Leave a Reply

