La-la-how the life goes on…. as usual.

David is off for school in the morning.  His lunch is packed, his books are readied.  His bus arrives and he is off to get his education…. as usual.

Kevin is off to work in the morning.  He and I had our walk.  His lunch is prepared.  His outfit is clean and ironed.  His car has gas so that he can get to work.  He is off to meet the challenges of the day and to earn a decent living….as usual.

The shift changes for the group home across the road. The clients are happy.  They smile.  The yard is cleaned up.  The bus arrives to take some of them to school so that they can participate in society as every citizen has the right to participate…as usual.

The picture frame in the front room turns on in the morning flipping from image to image. There are memories of birthday celebrations, Christmas celebrations, Easter, New Year’s Eve and wedding.  People are enjoying each other.  They smile for the camera.  History is made and preserved…as usual.

The dogs in my neighbour’s yard bark at passers-by. They have been walked, fed, and watered.  They are loved.  They are fiercely protective of their masters…as usual.

I hug the blanket around me during cold flashes and throw it off during hot flashes.  The blanket is warm and cozy and when I’m cold – it warms me instantly.  The house is warm and dry.  The furnace turns on when the temperature drops.  There are no leaks in the roof when it rains.  There is “space” in this house to live.  Everyone has their own bedroom and can choose to be alone when needed, or together when desired… as usual.

Messages chime into my cell phone from friends and family who are “thinking about me and wishing for my good health”. My spirits are bolstered by the daily courtesies.  I feel well loved and supported… as usual.

I sit down to try to write my post… as usual.

Cars travel up and down the street – some fast – some slow… as usual.

I wonder what I am going to cook for dinner tonight?… as usual.

I listen to the news about Corporal Nathan Cerillo’s murder in Ottawa.  His family and community grieve the loss of this young and vibrant man.  I hear about the 5-year old who is under observation for ebola.  How would a 5-year old understand why he would not be able to hug his mom?  I hear about the continued unrest in Syria that has seduced young Canadian men into its war brothel.  I wonder why I have been so blessed with so much… as usual.  I am grateful for my usual.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to La-la-how the life goes on…. as usual.

  1. Gwen K says:

    Thankful for our usual-ness. How fortunate to be usual.

  2. It’s so easy to over look our usual and forget that other’s ‘usual’ is no where as wonderful as ours. Wonderful reminders Stacey.

  3. kiwiskan says:

    I hope you are going to publish all these essays one day…

  4. pepesapam says:

    our usual normal days are the best ones….!!!

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Love your tribute to “usual”. http://blogs.unicef.org/2014/10/25/liberia-bringing-comfort-to-children-orphaned-by-ebola/ This is something you may have read about. Ebola survivors who are being trained by UNICEF to provide care and human touch for Ebola orphans. A small story of hope.

Leave a Reply

