I’d like something bright and colourful, please.

Auntie Helen will be laid to rest this Thursday and I need to order flowers.

What would she want?  When my brother and I were trying to remember her favorite flower, we simply drew blanks.  She lived in Edmonton – we in Ontario.  How are we supposed to know?  And then it hit me – she would want flowers that were bright and colourful.  This was what she wanted for my Mom when my Mom passed away.  Auntie Helen loved life and her life was full of colour.

My cousins are, no doubt, struggling to determine what to say in their eulogies.

What would she want?  Would she want prayers, music, and solemnity?  No.  She would want something colourful.  “You know, Stacey…” Auntie Helen coached me when I was trying to write a eulogy for my mom, “…people don’t become saints just because they have passed away.  Why do we always talk about them as being perfect when they are gone?  They weren’t perfect and we need to remember them as they were.”  Auntie Helen’s antics were very colourful.  I could never describe her life as black and white.  She was a pioneer for women’s rights well before the women’s movement.  She was an athlete, an advocate, and outspoken.  You always knew where you stood with Auntie Helen.  Helen loved life, and her life was colourful.

My cousins will select something for Auntie Helen, from her closet, to wear.

What would she want? Auntie Helen and her two siblings, my Mom and Auntie Anne, were some of the best dressed women in town.  Of course, they were all classic Russian beauties so the clothes were always pale in comparison to the person wearing them.  Nontheless, Auntie Helen had her own style.  And it was always colourful.  She rocked animal prints before anyone knew what a an animal print was.  She loved patterns that were bold and colours that were vibrant.  “Why wear something dull and drab?” she would challenge me.  Auntie Helen loved life and her life was colourful.

When it comes to ordering flowers, there is no other choice than to choose flowers that are bright and colourful.

“I’d like to order flowers for my aunt’s funeral in Edmonton.” I said to the florist.

“Of course, what kind of flowers would you like?”

“I’d like something bright and colourful, please”

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey, Grief and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’d like something bright and colourful, please.

  1. Gwen K says:

    Colourful is certainly a great way to describe Helen.

  2. It’s nice to know that ‘bright and colorful’ are words to attribute to your aunt. Who wants somber and grey??

  3. Gallivanta says:

    I am with Chatter Master on this one. 🙂

  4. Janine says:

    Your Tribute to your Aunt Helen would make your mom very proud. I enjoy your posts, but they often make me cry. The older I get the more sentimental I become. Xoxo

    • inmycorner says:

      THanks, Janine. Sorry that my posts elicit tears. I was only going for the thought – provoke! I guess as we age we get closer to knowing what really matters and become more in tune to that.

Leave a Reply

