Let me make soup

I should vacuum.  I don’t want to.

I should get some groceries.  I am not supposed to.

I could knit.  I don’t have needles.

Maybe I’ll sew.  I need to buy material.

I’ll make soup.

I should have a shower.  I need to save it for something to do later.

I should go for a walk.  It’s too windy.

I should answer the phone.  I don’t want to talk.

I should watch the news.  It is too depressing.

Maybe I’ll write some curriculum for schools?  I don’t know where to start.

I’ll  make soup.

The fire is out – I could re-start it.

Bills need to be paid – I could do some banking.

The dog needs to be brushed – I could do that.

The compost is full – I could empty it.

There is dust on the table – I could clean it away.

There are some bones in the freezer – I could make soup.

I am tired – I should sleep.

I am wired – I should exercise.

I am inspired – I should write.

I am bored – I should do something.

Yup.  I’ll make soup.

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Let me make soup

  1. Rita says:

    Don’t sweat the stuff you think you should be doing. None of it matters. Just sit and do nothing but rest if that is what you want to do.

    …but you do make really good soup!

  2. Enjoy your soup Stacey. The making, doing and enjoying it. 🙂

  3. Wilma says:

    It’s been a long time since I tasted your soup … or anything you cooked 🙂 And everyone is right … that other stuff can wait … read, write, watch the wind, pet the dog ..or … make soup!!

  4. Gallivanta says:

    Soup; the elixir of life. Maybe?

  5. hopebringsstrength says:

    I love the wonderful whimsy of this post. Let others “eat cake”, while we eat soup 🙂

  6. Mélanie says:

    excellent and yummy post… 🙂 btw, I do make soups about twice a week… cheers and bon appétit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

