Nights are the Worst

It is 4:12 am.  It’s not time to get up yet – no one is awake.

The window is open and there is a cool breeze that flows gently into my room which is both a curse and a blessing.

It’s the hot and cold flashes that are keeping me awake tonight.  I think it may be a side-effect of either the chemo – or forced onset of menopause.  Either way they drive me nuts!  Honestly, one minute I break into a fierce sweat and throw the covers off to welcome to cool breeze.  The next I am freezing cold and haul up my duvet above my head to get warm.  I even turn on the heating pad.  What?

Then, I ruminate.  I should NOT have read any more information about ovarian cancer treatments.  I should have learned my lesson the first time.  Curiosity kills the cat, right?

I felt good today thinking that this second round was so much more less stressful – I knew what was going to happen to my body and could be more “prepared”.  My sore throat – been there done it.  That’s my cells dying. I think.  So, I drink water.

That is a warning that my stomach is next so NO hot food.  Okay, so it’s food in general that causes stomach pain. I think.  So, I don’t eat.

Nope.  Not eating doesn’t work – maybe a little rice?  A little soft food may help control the acid release on my stomach that has been stripped of its cells?  I think.  So, I eat rice.

Maybe.  At least I could take my last dose of steroid.  Maybe the steroids will help me slow down the healing process and that’s what hurts?  I think.  So, I take my pills.

What about my mood?  I am friggin anxious and angry.  Is this how “roid rage” feels?  I can’t stand the smell of food cooking.  It smells good – but I can’t stand it.  I can’t stand the noise.  It is only the news and I enjoy watching the news but it irritates me. The phone.  I don’t want to talk to anyone today.  I just need to be alone.  I think.  So, I go to my room and hunker down in bed.  It has to be the withdrawal from steroid over-dose during chemo?  I think.

It is quiet.  I could not go through this process and then get up and go to work the next day.  I am sooo fortunate to have a job with benefits.  I don’t know how other people do it? How can they focus on getting better when they are too busy stressing about money and a job and maybe a family?  I have the luxury of being home and focusing on healing.  I have a wonderfully supportive husband, children, mother-in-law, and a job that provides me with sick leave.  I have no right to complain.  Oh, and did I mention the health-care is free and in my own home-town?

Still, nights are the worst.  They are a bitter-sweet.  They are quiet which allows me quiet contemplation and time to reflect.  Without this time, would I be able to adjust my attitude from one of self-pity to one of gratitude?  Is the breeze a friend or a foe?  I decide the breeze is a friend like chemo is a friend.  They are both there to help.  It is how I react to it that makes the difference.  Guess that is my lesson for the night.  I think.

Maybe that makes nights the best?

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nights are the Worst

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Roid rage sounds scary; worse than road rage. 😦

  2. I felt like I was right there, watching you, as I read this. And there was a wall of glass between us. And I can’t help. But want to. You are so strong for writing this.

    • inmycorner says:

      I felt like you would be here — and you do help —every post you make and comment helps! You are my escape sometimes, Colleen and you take me away from this temporary state of disrepair. So – thank-you. I’m not sure how strong I am – or just bloody stubborn that I don’t want to sit in self-pity and crud. But I like your description of me better – so thanks.

      • You’re welcome. And personally if stubbornness keeps us strong…be a stubborn little mule then. 🙂 Those stubborn mules sure get work done! I’m a little (a lot) flattered that I might provide ANY escape to you. I hope today is a good day, and tonight you find some rest.

  3. What a thoughtful post. I’ve never had cancer, but I can surely relate to what you’ve written. My heartfelt best wishes. Keep writing.

  4. kiwiskan says:

    just hang in there ♥

Leave a Reply

