Today is an ADD kind of day!

Good grief.  I know I was told I would have energy – but this is ridiculous!

I had a difficult time falling to sleep – restless legs. You know what that’s like. I felt like running a marathon while laying down in my bed.  My eyes were tired, but I couldn’t keep my legs still.  I got up.  I got down.  And because I knew I had to drink water to flush the toxins out of my system, naturally, I had to go use the facilities…often.  This was a relief of sorts as I had a good excuse to get up!  So- that was how the night marched on.  All in all, though, I woke up feeling rested and refreshed.  (What?)

I woke up at 4:00 and forced myself to stay in bed until 5:30am when I knew Kevin would be up to prepare me a coffee!  (grin)  I stood up right away – mindful that I may be dizzy.  Nope – I was good.  I walked quickly to my housecoat and threw is on.  All was good. “I feel great.”  I thought.  And then I remembered the nurses sage words of wisdom.

“You are going to be wired for sound for awhile, Stacey.  But be careful to rest.”

Ummmmm, wired?  Yup.  You bet.  My “to do” list raced through my mind.  But first – a walk!  I almost skipped down the stairs where the dog and Kevin greeted me.  Kevin looked at me tentatively – the dog longingly (should that be the reverse?).  Okay – the dog wanted her treat and Kevin wasn’t sure how I would be feeling.  “How are you feeling?” asked Kevin.

I feel great – so far so good!  Off we went to drink our coffees (mine I watered down with milk as I was told it could upset my stomach) and watch the news.  Kevin was tired. Maybe the stress of having to work full-time AND take care of me and the children was wearing him down?  “You ready to walk?” I inquired.

“Yup. But I’m tired today.”

Out the door we went.  The warm weather cloaked the walk in fog.  There were no stars, no moon, no wind.  But it was extraordinary nonetheless.  Our clip was a good one.  I couldn’t believe the difference between this first-day-after-chemo and the first-day-after-chemo the first time.  Experience taught me to not panic.  Admittedly, I needed to slow my pace after the first 10 minutes, but we carried on.  I felt a bit dizzy and remembered I had been warned that the copious quantities of drugs I had consumed the previous day would affect my memory and my balance.  I took Kevin’s arm for support – and we carried on.

The morning progress much like every other morning.  Breakfasts were made, lunches packed, and I accompanied David (the youngest) to the bus.  Here, I met my neighbour Natalie.  “Stacey, I ordered you a good food box and I have it.  Do you want me to grab it for you?”

I was thrilled!  The good food box is a program whereby local farmers send parts of their harvest each month to a group of workers in Barrie who package the goods into grocery bags pre-ordered by customers who subscribe to the program.  So – essentially – you get fresh, local, in season veggies once a month.

“Did you make your turkey broth yet, Natalie?” I asked.

“No – I have the carcass, but I was going to throw it out tomorrow.”

“Let’s cook it now.” I said with glee (still feeling the marathon effect from the previous night). I’ll show you what to do!

Natalie and I prepared her broth and off she went to work.  I made my broth.  I did dishes.  I made bread  I made soup.  I did my blog.  And I still have energy!

“Stacey, I think I need some of your steroids.” my 81 year-old Mother-in-Law joked.

We both chuckled at the thought of her on steroids.

The weather is certainly not spectacular today but that means nothing to me.  I survived yesterday.  I know I can continue my chemo with the help of pre-meds that put my immune system to sleep.  I know that the chemo is working and I was given a date for a follow-up CT scan with Dr. Dodge (the surgeon).  Things are looking up. Okay, I have chemo brain… just take a look at the mistakes I made in yesterday’s post!  But I am alive and I feel optimistic that things are looking up.

Today is definitely an ADD kind of day!

About inmycorner

This blog began as an opportunity to tell my Dad's stories. I sat with him and the computer and together we told stories. It was a wonderful way to get to know Dad. He was 9. He and Mom had a wonderful life together and since she passed away a year and a half before him - Dad was ready to join her. I no longer tell his stories but have found stories of my own. The impetus to resume this blog was the discovery that I had stage 4 ovarian cancer. Since blogging had been so therapeutic for my dad and I to get through our grief, I felt maybe this would be a good outlet to process my situation. I also hoped it may serve as an outreach to anyone else who is facing this very ominous journey. So far, so good.
This entry was posted in Cancer Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Today is an ADD kind of day!

  1. hopebringsstrength says:

    Carpe Diem! Whether it’s steroid induced, or spiritual, or nutritional…seize every moment of TODAY! Don’t think about yesterday and definitely do not worry or think about tomorrow. All that we ALL have is TODAY. Embrace every part of it and Smile that you have today! Much Love

    • inmycorner says:

      Yes. In fact, the song that popped into my head this morning was one from John Denver – Today. Funny how that happened. I forgot that was to be a posting topic for today – maybe later! Thank-you for your comments. I ALWAYS enjoy reading them!

  2. kiwiskan says:

    Sounds tremendous – but don’t forget to rest sometimes. 🙂

  3. Whatever the reason there is joy in energy!!! I’m thrilled for all the energy you have!!!!

  4. John Denver – remember singing Thank God I’m a Country Boy in choir???

  5. Rita says:

    Your energy is infectious! I am heartened hearing it in your words … but yeah, take the time to slow down, despite the energy surge…just follow Mom’s example and nod off on the couch!

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Wow! I feel breathless trying to keep up with you. Since you have extra energy how about popping in an extra loaf of bread for me? 😀

    • inmycorner says:

      Absolutely – it turns out I ran out of steam around 11 pm when I finally put my feet up. Today – I must admit – things are a littler slower. So I’m chilling! Oh, boy, there is nothing like home-made bread. Cheers!

      • Gallivanta says:

        When you recover a little steam, do check my latest post. I have invited you to do a wee task, if you would like to. You may not like to, and that’s absolutely fine. Just wanted you to know you are in my thoughts.

      • inmycorner says:

        I’m touched that you have given me such thought and consideration. I also would like to add that your spirit is equallly impressive. I did not know the motivation behind the positive posts – you have chosen to see the beauty and positive in the face of the earthquake devastations. Bravo. Our news brought us “some” of your news – but of course there is never long-term follow up. How horrible that there was so much suffering.
        I am really not very good at navigating this blog – and so am not sure “how” I go about performing this task to join you. I am interested in this challenge – but could explain what I need to do as though I were really simple? And again, thank-you for this challenge. It will be a good activity for me.

      • Gallivanta says:

        Ah, so glad you are interested in the challenge. But I am very embarrassed to realise that I have lost the email with the exact instructions. So we will improvise based on my post. Write a post on your blog that a) acknowledges the person/blogger who invited you
        b). answers these 4 questions: What are you working on now? How does my work differ from others of its genre? Why do I write what I do? How does my writing process work?
        Finally, nominate/invite two other bloggers to answer the same questions.

        Hope that makes sense. 🙂 Have fun with it.

      • inmycorner says:

        Oh – okay – that sounds pretty easy. Hubby just got up and is bringing me a coffee – so I’ll work on this later today.

      • Gallivanta says:

        Coffee is always a good assistant. 🙂

      • inmycorner says:

        Not to pry – but is your real name Gallivanta?

      • Gallivanta says:

        No…… 🙂 But what fun if it really were.

  7. beingeternal says:

    Dearest Stacey, I am happy to know that your spirit is still brimming with strength and happiness. It is so inspiringly thoughtful. My Prayers are still ON. You will definitely win.
    Stay Blessed! 🙂

  8. Nancy Ruegg says:

    Love your cheerful, upbeat attitude, Stacey. You are a poster child for Proverbs 17:22!

  9. Tom Graves says:

    Sickness is a part of the curse of the law (Deut 28:61) but Jesus became a curse for us, redeeming us from the curse of the law, that the Blessings of Abraham might come upon us (Gal. 3:13) “For the law of the Spirit of Life in Christ Jesus hath made me free from the law of sin and death.” Romans 8:2. I bless you to receive your healing in Jesus’ mighty name! Tom

    • inmycorner says:

      I appreciate you blessing, Tom. And so impressed with your knowledge of Scripture. This faith journey, too, is relatively new to me – but there are a whole lot of believers who seem to be supporting me now. Guess that speaks volumes!

Leave a Reply

